Work Wardrobe Formula

Photo by Alex Senekin.

Getting dressed for work can be a daunting task for those of us just entering the “real world,” especially as we are still growing our collection of professional attire. As someone with more limited options who hates to be an outfit repeater, I developed a “formula,” if you will, for selecting my outfits each week. This method has successfully simplified the process of getting dressed each morning while ensuring that my outfits stay on a proper rotation.

My work wardrobe formula looks something like this:

  • Twice a week: skirt
  • Once a week: slacks
  • Once a week: dress
  • Once a week: jeans

The numbers are based on the quantities of each item that I have, so you may find that your work wardrobe formula is slightly different. (Also, my office does casual Fridays which I know is not the case for everyone.) Make adjustments to the formula according to what you have available. The base objective is to make getting dressed less of a headache for you. Plus, it will keep you stylin’.

Look for a future post with more specific styling suggestions for your office attire.

4 responses to “Work Wardrobe Formula

  1. I’m going to have to do some shopping before next year for internships, interviews, and other important things. I wear shorts and a t-shirt 4 out of 4 days to work. That will unfortunately have to change soon!

  2. Great post! I love it!!

  3. I’m liking the idea of a set formula for your work wardrobe. Do you use formulas for things like hair and jewelry, too or just play it by ear?

    • I keep my jewelry pretty simple at work, so I’m not too worried about alternating items because they aren’t statement pieces that people will remember. For my hair, I blow dry it partially in the morning after I wash it and then wear it straight. Between washes (I try as best to wash my hair every other day), I will do one of three options: curl it, wave it or pull it back into a bun, braid or ponytail. Mostly though, I just figure it out on the fly!

Leave a Reply

