Beach Essentials

Pack a beach bag with everything you’ll need – sunglasses, sunscreen, iPod with your favorite summer tunes, a good read and water.

Before starting my summer internship, my mom and I decided to make a quick trip to Gulf Shores, Ala. for some quality beach time. Our packing was extremely last minute, but we managed to remember almost all of the essentials (minus a toothbrush and comb but a quick stop at Rite Aid corrected that). If you’re headed on a beach getaway, here are a few items that you won’t want to forget to bring along! And for even more packing advice, check out my previous post here.

Sunscreen: This is obvious, but it is so important that I have to mention it! I always bring different SPFs in lotions and sprays (I like sprays better because the application is quicker) and a separate Neutrogena lotion to use on my face.

Hat: A hat is essential for protecting your scalp from burning. Because getting sunscreen on your hairline is difficult impossible, a hat is going to be your saving grace. I love straw fedoras and cowboy hats when at the beach, but you can never go wrong with a baseball cap either.

Coordinated clothes that layer well: Beach weather typically fluctuates througout the day. Mornings start off a little chilly, afternoons are smoking hot, and the evenings can be breezy. Be sure to pack clothes that you can wear interchangeably and layer when necessary. A colorful scarf and patterned cardigan will work great at night time when worn over a loose day dress.

Comfortable shoes: You’ll kick off your shoes for those long walks on the beach, but if you’re a tourist at heart like me (I love exploring and snapping pics), you’ll want to have shoes that won’t leave you with blisters.

Know the area: When you’re going on a trip, you’ll want to hit all the good hangouts while you’re there. Go online and check out the hot spots. Get addresses, numbers and print off interesting information that you can bring with you. Also, I would advise talking to a local once you’re at your destination – they’re sure to tell you about the places that you wouldn’t know about otherwise.

Lounging at Lulu’s before dinner — Gulf Shores, Ala.

2 responses to “Beach Essentials

  1. Sunscreen… definitely have left for the beach without it. Luckily there is enough to fill the need. Hats are always on my head, so that was an easy pack. But I don’t always know the area. One of the things I like to do is to go exploring the 1st or 2nd day down!

  2. Loved our girls week to the beach! All this advice worked-well….I mean… had I had the time prior to leaving, to read it:) Good thing the few items we forgot, easy and cheap to buy. Our sunscreen worked too well-but at least we didn’t burn.

Leave a Reply

